Veggie Loaf on Monday

May 10, 2010 § 1 Comment

As a kid I never could chime in about the horror of my mom making meat loaf (because she never did).  I always see meatloaf available as a dinner or sandwich in great dinner type restaurants.  As a vegetarian, I always felt a little left out.  Who was going to make a meatless version of the meat loaf for us veggies?  Well, I am happy to announce that I have.  Oh, I guess I should add that my meat loving husband enjoyed it!

Ingredients:

  • 3 Tbsp. plain dried breadcrumbs
  • 1/8 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 1/4 plus 1/8 cup  grated cheddar
  • 2 scallions, thinly sliced
  • 1 and 1/2 carrots, finely grated
  • sea salt and pepper
  • 12 oz. package of Yves veggie ground round

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 375°F.  In a medium-sized bowl, grate the carrots.

2.  Add breadcrumbs, milk, ketchup, cheese, scallions, 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp. pepper, and veggie ground round to the bowl with the carrots.  Gently stir to combine

3.  Pour and form mixture into a 2 1/2 x 4 inch loaf pan.  Bake until cooked through, about 30 minutes.

This meal goes well with the roasted potatoes, green beans, and tomatoes side dish.

Tagged:

§ One Response to Veggie Loaf on Monday

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Veggie Loaf on Monday at the week in food.

meta

