First Post

February 6, 2010 § 1 Comment

My name is Lisa.  Welcome to The Week in Food, where I will share with you my week by posting my farmers market finds and the recipes I use to prepare delicious and healthy dinners.

I love the farmers market and food, but I love it even more when I could prepare easy meals throughout the week with minimal effort and maximum flavor.  In an effort to hold myself accountable to making creative and satisfying dinners throughout the week, I decided to share them with the world.

All produce comes from the local farmers market in Santa Monica, which I visit on Sundays to stock up on most of the ingredients for my meals.  The other stuff (stuff I cannot get at the market) comes from either Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods.

Every Sunday I do the shopping.  I always let the ingredients dictate what I will make, not the other way around.  The benefits to this are: the fruits and vegetables I buy will always be fresh and in season, I will support the local farmers, and I will help to reduce the amount of fuel used to transport produce from across the country (and from out of the country) to major supermarket chains.

I will share all the ingredients I purchase every week and share my creations (and recipes!) as they come.

Thank you for reading and enjoy!

Tagged:

§ One Response to First Post

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading First Post at the week in food.

meta

